Travel Restrictions On SA Right Now

As Covid-19 cases decrease and more people are getting vaccinated, more and more countries are gradually beginning to reopen their borders to those travelling from South Africa. If you want to get back to travelling internationally but aren’t sure which countries will grant you entry due to some Covid-19 regulations still being applied by some countries, you’ve come to the right place. Keep reading to learn more!

Canada stated that it would allow foreign nationals who are fully vaccinated to enter the country for non-essential purposes starting from Tuesday (7 September) if they meet certain conditions. Additionally, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has also decreased its travel limitations for South Africans who are fully vaccinated. While South Africans travelling on tourist visas have to take a compulsory rapid PCR test at airports, the change implies that travellers will be able to travel from South Africa and have layovers in Dubai, provided that they meet specific prerequisites.

Some parts of Europe have also started allowing South Africans fully vaccinated to travel, with Germany, Spain, and France relaxing certain limitations in recent weeks. That said, Saudi Arabia has also taken South Africa out of its list of banned countries.

While South Africa has, for the most part, kept its borders open to tourists from overseas since coming out of its first hard lockdown in mid-2020, various other countries have decided not to reciprocate. South Africans still have to deal with strict travel limitations.

This likewise impacts travellers who are deterred from visiting South Africa due to their challenges when trying to get back to their own countries.

A planning device created by a popular travel site, Skyscanner, shows that as of the 8th of September, South Africa has 79 significant limitations in place from other countries. This is up from roughly 60 significant limitations prior to the third Covid wave hitting. These countries have suspended travel, might be closed to entry, or could only be given entry if you are a resident or meet severe entrance prerequisites.

By comparison, there are roughly 32 moderate travel limitations for South Africa, where travel is allowed. However, those travelling have to meet specific entry prerequisites, including taking mandatory rapid Covid-19 tests.

Countries With Strict Travel Restrictions For South Africans

  • Australia
  • China
  • France
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • New Zealand
  • United Kingdom
  • USA